Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet comprises six councillors including the Leader of the Council who chairs its meetings. It has responsibility for the day-to-day decisions on council functionsand makes recommendations to full Council on the major policy plans and the budget and Council Tax.

There is a Cabinet Member for each of the following Council services:

·       Performance and Resources

·       Planning and Housing Strategy

·       Environment

·       Communities and Neighbourhoods

·       Culture and Leisure

·       Economic Recovery and Growth

The Leader of the Council is appointed by full Council at its annual meeting and he appoints the Cabinet.

The Cabinet is held to account by the Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

The Conservative group has control of the Council and the Cabinet comprises 6 Conservative Councillors.





Contact information

Support officer: Democratic and Electoral Services.

Postal address:
PO Box 3252

Phone: 01452 396126